Nowadays many students choose to take a year off before going to university. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of taking a year off, and give your own opinion about whether it is a good idea.

It is true that more and more students nowadays decide to take a gap year before entering university. While there are some drawbacks to making this choice, it still benefits gap year takers a lot in my opinion. On the one hand, some people may argue that there are disadvantages for teenagers who do not go to college directly after graduating from high school. The main drawback is that students might have trouble catching up with other classmates after a year rest, and eventually lose interest in learning for higher degree. For example, a Student without an university diploma would have trouble entering in the international company, and becomes less competitive. The other weakness would be wasting time if students keep fooling around and have no idea what they are going to do in the future career. Those would cause serious impacts in their lives, by losing a chance to have a brighter career path and networking with other elites. On the other hand, there are many advantages for students taking a year off before enrolling in college. Firstly, it is a good time for students to rest after finishing the university entrance exam, they can either travel to other countries or visit some famous places within a year. Moreover, they may have more opportunities to learn what they are interested in by taking some short-term courses or becoming an apprentice in a company. For instance, a student may find himself prefer drawing rather than studying during the gap year, and have more time to cultivate his interest. Lastly, those people may have more chance to learn some practical skills. In conclusion, although there are both pros and cons in taking a year off before university enrollment, I believe that it is rewarded when using that gap year exploring life and finding out what matters more in one’s future.