In the future all cars, buses and trucks will be driverless. The only people travelling inside these vehicles will be passengers. Do you think that the advantages of driverless vehicles outweighs the disadvantages?

Transportation is an excellent means of movement from one location to another. In the coming years, all automobiles will require no driver and only commuters would be travelling in vehicles. I believe that the drawbacks such as redundancy of driving skills and increase risk of death occurring from machine errors are far more reaching than the benefits. On the one hand, the advent of driverless automobiles would help reduce burnout occurring as a result of fatigue that is associated with driving vehicles for an extended duration of time daily. which results in frequent visits to the hospital and indirectly reducing the quality of life of drivers. For example, my oldest cousin, whose primary job was to convey goods by road between states in the United States of America for many years, developed a high level of stress which required repeated hospitalizations almost following every trip made between states for many years. This condition caused him a large sum of money and precious time away from his loved ones. After his resignation from his job as a driver and gaining employment as a baseball coach in a primary school, his frequency to the hospital reduced and his quality of life improved significantly. On the other hand, the use of driverless vehicles will mean an eventual redundancy of driving skills, as most technical skills such as driving and painting requires regular practice, and without frequent practice many people will lose their driving techniques. In addition, the possibility of an increase in the rates of road traffic accidents occurring due to machine errors would be high. Therefore, this will mean more death and deformity of viable citizens. For example, a research conducted by Tesla (manufacturers of electric vehicles) discovered that the risk of loss of lives and properties that would occur if automobiles are made to function without drivers would increase by more than 50% in the coming years. In conclusion, while driverless vehicles has its merits like a reduction in driving burnout, the demerits such as a risk of increasing road traffic accidents and driving skills redundancy are far more reaching.