Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

Recently a big part of the population suffering from health issues has been choosing to find unusual ways to solve them rather than conventional medicine. Consequently, a large number of patients are dying because of this. Firstly, one of the main problems is the spreading of misinformation through the population. This is mainly happening because of the internet, especially social media, where people do the impossible in order to get some shares. For example, in a little town in Italy, a person has started posting on Facebook how he could cure cancer, as a result, few individuals wanted to be saved from him. However, what they did not know, was that the drug he was giving them contained aluminium, a toxic compound which, in the worst-case scenario can cause medullary aplasia leading to death within weeks. Hence, five of them died and four had irreversible damage to their kidneys and brain. Secondly, this issue is also due to the fact that usually doctors may have a lack of skills in communication, thus, some patients find them unreliable and decide to choose a different way to get better. According to researchers from Oxford's university, sick people assisted by physicians who create a bond with them, are less likely to get alternative assistance. Therefore, if this not happen, the sufferer might choose a different path, which leads them to even more harm and pain. In conclusion, I strongly believe this development is bad for the society. In addition, I believe administrations should take action in order to end it as soon as possible, for instance, governments should severely punish whoever practises alternative medicine.