In some cultures, childrens are often told they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

There is no denying the fact that in some cultures, kids are often told that they can achieve anything they want if they try hard enough. There are both advantages and disadvantages of this situation. This essay will analyze this topic from both points of view. On the one hand, one major advantage of saying to children that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough is making them more ambitious and creative in doing things they want to achieve. Another advantage is that children will try to do their best to achieve what they want. For example, if a mother told her child that she would buy a gift for him if he got a full mark in a math test, he would study very hard to have the full mark. On the other hand, the disadvantages may include if the child tries very hard and does not achieve what he wants, he might think that his parents are lying to him then he will lose the trust of his parents. In addition to that, giving this message to children may lead them to do dangerous things. For example, if a child wants to fly like a bird, he will try hard to fly, but this is impossible, as a result, his legs or arms might be broken. To sum up, there are lots of advantages and disadvantages of saying to children that they can achieve anything they want by trying hard. The advantages may include making the child more creative, while the disadvantages include losing the trust of the child ’s parents.