In many countries, there is a shortage of housing due to growing population. Some people argue that new towns should be built in the countryside, others argue for the regeneration of cities. What are the advantages and disadvantages of building new towns in the country side?

The increase of life expectancy over the past decades is contributing to a rapidly growing population which is associated with many problems. One of the issues stemmed from overpopulation is the shortage of housing which it is believed could be tackled by creating new towns in the country side. This essay will examine positive and negative aspects of this approach. On one hand, in many countries small towns are at risk of dying out due to younger generations moving into big cities in pursue of a more exciting life. However, many families living in more populated areas may be looking into a quieter life in the country side which could be facilitated by building more houses in these areas. This measure would benefit both, the local community and the new neighbours. Notwithstanding, this growth in small towns may lead to some disadvantages. One consequence of increasing the population is the development of infrastructure such as roads, schools, official buildings and parks necessary to accommodate the new volume of people. This will, inevitable, be associated with an impact on the environment as well as the traditional character of those towns. Similarly, the peaceful lifestyle that normally characterise these small towns may be spoiled by such change in their population which will be difficult to ever gain again. In conclusion, overpopulation is a reality that needs to be addressed and one of the solutions may be promoting new housing in small towns. However, whilst this measure can be associated with many advantages including improving the life style of the new arrivals, the potential detrimental consequences, especially those related to the environment, should not be disregarded.