Some people believe that the experiences children have before they go to school will have the greatest effect on their future life. Others argue that experiences gained when they are teenagers have a bigger influence. Discuss both views and give your opinions.

Experiences and learning are important aspects of a child's upbringing, as they can have far-reaching consequences on the development and future, especially for youngsters. While some argue that preschool experiences, mainly the informal education by parents or guardians, have the biggest impact on the child's future, others opine that teenage school experiences, majorly the formal education system and accompanied teenage peer pressure, have the greatest future influence on children. In this essay, I will discuss the above views and posit that both experiences equally impact the child's future. To begin, young children learn a lot by observing their parents, guardians and in fact any adult around them. This is how first language skills are learnt in the home. As the saying goes, "charity begins at home", the responsibility of parents is to mentor and train the child in good, socially acceptable ethical and religious values and characters. For example, respect for others and constituted authority, hard work, hygiene, religious ethic and ethos, which greatly influence a person's future, are imbibed at this stage of life. Therefore, preschool experiences play a very important role in influencing the child's future. On the other hand, teenage experiences in elementary school and by peer - pressure also have a very big effect on the future of children. The saying "show me your friend and I will tell you who you are" indicates the importance of this influence. As much as our families shape who we are, friends are responsible for a big portion of whom we have become and who we will be. This influence is mostly seen in teenagers who use the boarding school system or university campus hostel system. Although peer pressure can have negative influences, for example, teenage smoking and drug abuse, it could also have positive influences if the right association is made. Therefore, teenage peer pressure goes a long way to influence their future. In conclusion, it is my opinion that preschool and peer pressure influences, to an equal degree, impact the future of youngsters.