Many supermarkets are selling more and more products that are imported from other countries instead of selling food that is locally sourced. What are the reasons for this? Is this a positive or negative development?

With increasing trade between the countries now, foreign products are easily accessible to the local public. Experts believe that supermarkets and malls are heavily encouraging their customers to buy foreign items instead of local products. This essay will discuss the possible reasons for selling more foreign products and how it brings a negative impact on the country. To begin with, one of the major reasons is high profit for supermarket owners who are free to charge an additional amount for the imported goods. For example, imported grapes don’t come with an MRP tag, which gives the supermarket owners an advantage to earn more money. Moreover, the reason why they are succeeding is that the customers are attracted to oversea products. In developing countries including mine, people believe that developed countries produce high-quality items so they prefer buying them. So customers should purchase intelligently instead of going with the shiny things. This development brings a negative impact on the country. Many local brands and shops end up shutting down because of drowning in the loss and debt. Not only this, the number of farmers is dropping speedily in the country as people don’t purchase local cultivation. This development is damaging the economy of the country which is never a good sign for any country. To summarize, supermarkets are causing serious damage to society and the economy of the country for their own interest. People should stand united in support of the local products which will force the supermarket owners to sell more of the local brands instead of foreign goods.