There was a time when people only shopped out of necessity, but these days shopping seems to have become a new form of leisure activity. People don't appreciate the value of money anymore. To what extent dou you agree with this view?

Shopping is the most essential activity which enables people to fulfil their necessities, It can be in the form of clothes, groceries, daily needs, etc. There was a time when people were out shopping when they were in need, but these days it has transformed into a new kind of leisure activity. I lean towards an agreement by pinning on possible points with relevant examples to answer the question that people have lost to appreciate the value of money. To begin with, earlier the people were socially active as the conversation was the only mode to keep engaged in day-to-day life. Eager to search for every possibility to have information about their surroundings as everyone was financially strained and depended upon the harvest in rural areas which was done twice a year. Consequently, the shopping was done on rare occasions only, when they were in extreme need. For instance, I spent most of my childhood in a rural area, where people usually have to gather near the market area in the evening every day as it was the only way to acquire the news to hear something new. Furthermore, there was no advanced equipment that people had the desire to buy. On the other hand, nowadays people are equipped with advanced technologies and it is ubiquitous for the people to maintain standards. due to the soaring requirement of research and development, it is expected to perform multiple tasks which results in an auxiliary source of income. In addition, people are so engaged that they are restricted to have social connections, instead people consider shopping as a leisure activity. For example, today everybody has a smartphone as a companion and is enabled to shop online by sitting at home. I think even a purchase of a smaller thing can make difference as it provides a large variety of products from all around the world. In a nutshell, life has been changed pretty much as compared to older times. People will shop for leisure as it is the only activity that enables one to stare at and have the desire to buy neglecting all social activities due to a lack of nearby social connections.