Employees sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful others disagree. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

While some people say that personal information, such as hobbies and marital status is required for applying for jobs, others disagree and believe that employees should only consider work-related experiences. Both sides of this statement will be discussed, and my opinion will be given. One clear benefit of asking about candidates ' personal details is employees can get to know more about the person. For instance, hobbies and interests can show the personality of candidates whether they are an introvert who enjoys reading alone on their couch in their free time or an extrovert who likes to go party every night. Additionally, marital status can also roughly indicate how much time they need to spend on their personal matters, such as do they need to leave at 5pm for picking up their children from school. On the other hand, many people believe that personal information is irrelevant and can lead to bias. Employees should look for people who have the ability to perform the job well and make a decision based on only their work-related experiences and skills. Regardless of who candidates are or what their interests are, they should still have an opportunity for a job if they have enough skills and be able to manage their personal and work lives well. In conclusion, I believe that during the recruiting process, employees should focus more on the technical and soft skills required for the job. However, hobbies and other personal information also help employees to understand more about candidates ' personalities.