Smacking children is the best form of discipline. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your knowledge or experience.

Corporal punishment is increasingly becoming a swift way to end deviant behaviour. Some people claim that the best way to ensure children are disciplined is by spanking them while others believe that adverse effects in the future are quite devastating. This essay will argue that spanking youngsters is definitely not the best way to discipline and improve their behaviour. Parents believe that the pain a juvenile receives from being smacked will cause a change in his or her bad performance. They also do not want their kid to be termed spoilt as a result of them "sparing the rod". Educators, teachers and guardians have also experienced an adjustment in the style and moral attitude of their students or wards after being spanked. For example, a minor being smacked for being disobedient to instruction will remember the pain inflicted on him or her and for fear of receiving such again,he or she would adhere strictly to instructions and abstain from committing such offences. These instances, explain the notion that smacking is the perfect form of discipline. Despite, the obvious positive change in a badly behaved youth as a result of being punished, the adverse effect in the long run far outweighs the benefits. The physical injuries and psychological trauma experienced due to smacking from parents,educators, teachers and guardians is quite worrisome and can leave a lasting effect on the child. There was an instance when a little boy of about four years old was being smacked by his class teacher and the cane mistakenly hit his right eye, by the time he was examined by an optometrist, he was diagnosed with a cataract, with poor poor prognosis and an inability to see leaving the poor little boy with a damaged one eye. It has also been recorded that offspring who have experienced being smacked at an early age are more likely to suffer emotional abuse, poor mental health and behavioural problems later in the future. It's clearly seen from the above examples that corporal punishment is a form of violence. This essay argued that smacking is absolutely not the best method of instilling discipline. In my opinion, punishing youngsters physically is certainly not the finest of ways to shape a naughty kid as against some beliefs, it is completely unacceptable therefore I totally disagree with corporal punishment.