Young people are often influenced in their behaviours and situations by other in the same age. This is called peer pressure. Do the disadvantages outweighed the advantages?

It has been seen that today’s generation is over-influenced by colleagues and people they are surrounded by in the same stage of their lives. This is a common issue in society today and this essay is totally in favor of the given point of you. There are a lot more demerits to discuss than m merits. First of all, peer pressure can be devastating to the youth, especially in the financial aspect. Today, young people prefer to coping the fashion and lifestyle of others rather than great characteristics. Eventually, because of the 'Show Off Rat Race' individuals spend recklessly on unnecessary stuff. For example, according to the latest news on the internet, in India, the majority of people buy iPhones as a luxury symbol on a mortgage just to copy their rich friends. Moreover, not following the group can lead to loneliness and other psychological problems. In other words, research by Stanford university says that social pressure is real, not following the customs can part oneself from the society. To illustrate, the present incident in Japan is a great epitome of peer pressure. According to data in 2018, a 17-year-old boy committed suicide because he was poor and not able to celebrate his birthday like his friends and also being teased by people due to that. To conclude, absorbing good qualities and positivity from the people you are surrounded by helps to enhance one’s productivity and motivation. However, it is important to understand the blink of ignorance and how to stop running behind a fake world and hurting ourselves for that.