Nowadays on-line shopping has become more popular than in-store shopping. Is it a positive or a negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant example from your own knowledge or experience.

Shopping has become an indispensable part of everyone’s life. Presently, people tend to have a materialistic attitude thus online shopping is gaining more and more prevalence in the entire world. This trend has both positive and negative impacts. To begin with, online purchasing offers a great opportunity for consumers to compare different products from a variety of local and international brands. They can further narrow down their search by applying filters, which eventually saves a lot of their time. Furthermore, web portals usually offer exceedingly attractive and lucrative discounts to the customer because this practice results in massive savings with regard to overhead costs. In addition to that, buying stuff online will be hassle-free, as it not only evades the need to commute a long distance to the outlet malls but also avoids inconvenience associated with the parking woes. On the flip side, there are plenty of multifarious outcomes of online shopping to the environment and society as a whole. The first and foremost is it develops a compulsive shopping behaviour in the masses, lured from deals they buy excessive goods which were packed in wrappers and packaging usually made of non-biodegradable plastic which is eventually dumped into landfills and causes pollution. Moreover, shopping is a social experience, people use to go out of their homes and meet other peoples which are somehow lacking or restrict by the online shopping. To recapitulate, online shopping has both merits and demerits but the advantages clearly out weights the disadvantages and is considered to be preferable to shopping at shopping malls.