Question: The percentage of overweight children in western society has increased by almost 20% in the last ten years. Discuss the causes and effects of this disturbing trend.

Question: The percentage of overweight children in western society has increased by almost 20% in the last ten years. Discuss the causes and effects of this disturbing trend. Answer: Adiposity in children is becoming increasingly alarming. It has been reported that the fraction of obese youngsters in western society has soared by almost one-fifth in the last decade. The leading causes of obesity include excessive intake of fast foods and sugary products and reduced physical activities. Being overweight can lead to the early development of physical and emotional health issues. To start with, fast foods availability and consumption have greatly increased. Many sugar-sweetened and high-fat junk foods are addictive, that is why a lot of juniors develop cravings for them, which in turn leads to the accumulation of excess fats in their bodies. In addition, many juveniles do not engage in adequate physical activities and workouts, they stay glued to television or computer screens. Many of them walk less as their parents take them to and fro school every day. A recent survey in the U.S. revealed that only 26.1% of adolescents and children fulfill the American Heart Association recommended daily 60-minute workout. These are some of the reasons many minors become plump. The negative effects that obesity has on children are numerous. First, it can be highly detrimental to their physical health. Diseases such as diabetes, hypertension, and heart diseases have been strongly linked to obesity. Apart from this, juveniles also suffer emotional problems such as low self-esteem and depression as a result of being too fat. Some of their peers could also taunt them for their weight and this could hurt them. To conclude, there is a growing rate of plumpness among children in developed countries which is largely caused by the high consumption of processed food and physical inactiveness. Obesity affects their emotional, as well as physical well-being adversely.