Some people believe that it is good to share as much information as possible in scientific research, business and the academic world. Others believe that some information is too important or too valuable to be shared freely. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Our world is progressing faster than ever before. New ideas and discoveries are born every day in a huge variety of fields. There are people who believe that all of this information should be shared with the public, while others think that some of it is too important or valuable to be released freely. I think that it all comes down to the type of data and how it would affect our lives because progress should not be pursued at any cost. There are different types of discoveries that could benefit or harm us. Everything that can be of help has to be shared because it will lead society to a better future. For example, new medical developments that are tested and ruled safe have to be implemented in the treatment of patients, so there is a bugger chance of preserving their lives. Information helping with the battle against global warming or pollution has to be spread so that more companies and organisations can join forces. In addition, if innovations like alternative fuels are considered by more people we do not have to worry about the lack of fossil ones. Although there are a lot of pros to sharing ideas some of them can be dangerous. From the development of lethal weapons to a simple thing such as stealing an invention, they can cause harm. Alfred Nobel discovered dynamite, and when he realised that it can be used in the act of war, he turned down a fortune. Since there are a considerable amount of individuals who are more concerned with their profit, than with the well-being of others sensitive information should be kept hidden from them. In conclusion, every new research has to be considered and if proven dangerous should be restricted. Discoveries that will have positive overall effect have to be released freely.