In the future, nobody will buy printed newspapers or books because they will be able to read everything they want online without paying. To what extent agree or disagree with this statement?

The popularity of electronic books, commonly known as e- books, has escalated over the years owing to the diverse genres of literature available online which can be accessed without any payment. In my opinion, I strongly disagree that printed materials will become obsolete, as hard-copy versions of books have a significant impact on the reading habits of the younger generation. Furthermore, regardless of the technological advancements, printed publications will never be wiped out as they connect people to nostalgic memories which strikes a chord with every avid reader. To begin with, the practice of reading is often ingrained into human minds from a very young age when parents introduce to children the enthralling world of books. It would be highly detrimental to offer electronic gadgets to a toddler who has just begun to identify alphabets. Physical material in the form of cloth books and hard-bound print can boost an infant's language development as neural networks are built stronger through the sensory experiences printed books provide. Consequently, the enriching knowledge they gain, encourages children to experiment and explore the environment around them in an umpteen number of ways which promotes healthier recreational patterns rather than relieving mental stress by spending hours on online gaming. The second reason for a greater preference for printed material is that, memories are refreshed through the tactile sensations of having to turn pages and visualizing the graphic illustrations in it. For instance, recent research has reported that printed text and images have a much higher visual clarity which appeals to people to a much greater extent than those viewed on a computerized screen. Additionally, reading during leisure time becomes a pleasurable activity as the strain on our eyes reduces considerably with physical books. In conclusion, I would like to reiterate my opinion that I disagree with the statement that purchases from physical book stores will diminish, as printed copies continue to influence young minds and stimulate pleasing memories that make reading truly enjoyable.