Prison is the common way in most countries to solve the problem of crime. However, a more effective solution is to provide people with a better education. Agree or disagree?

It is commonly acknowledged that prison is an effective method to tackle the crime issue in many countries worldwide. While some people argue that education is the better way to solve this problem, I consider that both solutions play an equal role in reducing criminal acts. Those who favour imprisonment as a way to lessen the crime ratio as it is simple and has high levels of efficiency. This can be explained that the basic rationale for sending offenders to jail is to deter the possibility of the occurrence of future crime. In other words, those punishments as a deterrent to inform the public that they should adhere to legislation in order to avoid being sent to jail. However, if there are no punishments or extremely lenient sentences, the frequency of individuals who commit a crime cannot be underestimated, and result in a major negative impact on social security and stability. Nonetheless, the importance of education as a feasible way to reduce criminal behaviours cannot be ignored. This is because detention appears to cannot resolve the essence of the problem of crime compared to education. Before knowing how education work to diminish the crime rate, the fact we should understand is that the main reason for people breaking the laws is their lack of legal knowledge or they are unemployed. Therefore, if people can obtain a good education in schools by learning common sense in law or master practical skills to be employed, the crime rates would be decreased to a certain extent. For example, countries with high education quality are much less likely to have high crime rates. In conclusion, I believe that a prison sentence is a good way to alleviate the problem of crime while education can address this issue from its root cause. A combination of these two methods would be an ideal way.