In the future all cars, buses, and trucks will be driverless. The only people travelling inside these vehicles would be passengers. Do you think the advantages of driverless vehicles outweigh the disadvantages?

Technology advancements will lead vehicles to be automatically driven in the next generation, and everyone on board will be passenger. Although there are substantiated arguments on both sides, I believe this is a positive movement where the merits outweigh the drawbacks. The primary advantage of utilizing driverless vehicles is that this can minimize accidents attributed to insufficient rest and careless mistakes of the driver. By using a well-formulated computer program, many human errors could be prevented. For instance, night-time drivers who work in shifts often suffer from inadequate rest, thus increasing the possibility of road accidents due to fatigue. Furthermore, this phenomenon allows everyone on the vehicle to enjoy the trip. By using automated machines to take up the driver’s duty, all the occupants can enjoy the journey. People who were previously in the driver’s seat will be able to do things they like, for instance, look at the scenery, watch movies and chat with their friends during the trip. On the other hand, it is predicted that this change will result in a rise in unemployment. As vehicles will no longer need drivers, many drivers will be made redundant. They may lose their jobs, and thus lose the ability to earn a living for themselves and their families. Worse still, these unemployed drivers will pose a heavy toll on the community if they need social assistance. To conclude, it is my firm belief that the positives of this phenomenon far exceed the negatives. This is because the reduction in human-related error and the enjoyment of travelling surpass the effect of driver unemployment, which can be amended by government policy and intervention. Therefore, this change should be embraced.