People in many countries are spending less time with their families. What are the reasons, and effects of this?

It is widely argued that the world is facing insufficient time for family in this modern society nowadays. This essay attempts to shed light on the underlying reasons behind this tendency before clarifying some serious repercussions it is going to have on both family and society as a whole. There are two primary reasons as to why quality family time has been on the decline to some extent. First and foremost, hectic work schedules are depriving people of their time supposedly spent with family. To simplify, people have the tendency to prolong their working time to address tasks as well as improve their income, which eventually limits the time spent with their spouses or children. Secondly, the advent of hi-tech devices could also lead to the absence of family time during the day. This perception could be reinforced by the fact that children living in the modern world today have a preference to enjoy themselves through various online applications, namely Facebook or TikTok, instead of engaging in conversations with their parents. The growing trend towards reduced family time is going to put both family and society in jeopardy. Regarding the former, this negative trend could widen the emotional gap and weaken the bonds among family members. As a result, people are likely to mislead their families and raise more arguments, leading to countless family problems, such as violent acts or even divorce in the worst-case scenario. With respect to the latter, the degradation of quality family time could bring about serious societal issues. Specifically, in some Vietnamese families, parents spend more time in their workplace, which means their children are unsupervised. Consequently, this acts as a precursor to exposing children to toxic influences from bad friends or their media consumption. This is to say, this is indeed a breeding ground for violence and crime in modern society. In conclusion, a heavy amount of work combined with the overly heavy use of technological devices results in a lack of family time, and this phenomenon has a variety of adverse implications for both family and society.