Many museums charge for admission while others are free. Do you think the advantages of charging people for admission to museums outweigh the disadvantages?

Since education was popularized, museums were not only for the royals but also opened to the public to enjoy precious works in there together. However, there is a controversial discussion about whether charge people for admission to museums. I firmly believe user charge is a good idea and I will discuss its advantages and disadvantages in this essay. Firstly, museums can have more funds to maintain their quality such as by hiring more tour guides and guards. By having tour guides, people can easily understand the stories behind these collections instead of just walking through them which would waste the main function of these institutions. Secondly, if institutions charge an extra fee to visitors, it may lead to less tax on people which could help the poor relieve pressure on money. In this case, the concept of user charge is not just beneficial to the business but also for the true equality of the society. Although its merits are considerable, it is hard to overlook the disadvantages of charging people the extra fee for exhibitions. Some people have no ability to pay the money and therefore the knowledge of museums cannot be popularized. Furthermore, if galleries have to maintain their operation by charging the public, they would pay more attention to the marketing instead of the quality of display artworks. The modern museum, for example, only exhibited artworks from those artists who are famous on social media which may have less educational meaning. To conclude, although opening freely can spread education among society, it is hard for museums to have extra money to enhance their quality. In this case, apart from receiving funds from governments, they can also charge a small price for admissions to visitors.