Overpopulation in urban areas has led to numerous problems. write problems of overpopulation and suggest solutions government and individuals can take to tackle this problem.

In modern society, more people choose to live in the developed cities instead of rural areas, so they can enjoy convenience, high-quality lifestyles and various entertainment. Nevertheless, modern migration has rapidly expanded the population and resulted in various problems. This essay seeks to discuss the issue and provides recommendations for the government. To begin with, with more crowds flooding in or getting birth in the city, the average space shared by a person is less. Among the popular city in the world such as New York City, Singapore, and Hong Kong, the population density index is very high. The overpopulation phenomenon is more than a space issue. It is also reflected in the pricing of housing. When a limited supply of housing meets with increasing demand for accommodation, the Economics result will be a higher price. As a result, people need to work hard for savings for buying or renting flats. Because of this, it is not uncommon to see that people who live in big cities usually suffer from stress disorders and other psychological illnesses. Secondly, although the younger generation receives better education and support, they also face higher aspirations from peers and parents. Nowadays, the younger cohorts are having less leisure time,unlike the past generation. They face competition to get top grades in school, then a good internship in college, followed by a high salary when they graduate. In conclusion, the government can play an important role to alleviate the issue. On the one hand, it can embark on mega- city projects to expand city size or to exploit unused land for development, easing the overpopulation. On the other hand, it can invest capital in research and development so that the future generation can develop an edge to work in newer industries such as fin-tech, STEM and so on.