Although more and more people read news on the Internet, newspapers will remain the most important source of news. Do you agree or disagree?

Some people argue that the Internet is starting to rival newspapers as the best place to find information about what is happening in the world. Although I can see the opposite side, I tend to agree with this view. Admittedly, newspapers are still an important tool to keep abreast of news events, especially for many older people. They are generally not familiar with that electronic equipment such as smartphones and desktops, suggesting they potentially find it difficult to search for good information and they arguably do not like reading from a screen. Another reason may well be that the quality and accuracy of online news are variable and frequently untrustworthy. The Internet allows anyone to publish their own writing, which invariably enables the dissemination of misleading and dangerous views. While newspaper articles are usually written by professionals and these traditional sources often pride themselves on impartiality and rigorous fact-checking, they tend to produce better quality writing than websites. Nevertheless, I feel, this trend will continue and the Internet will soon become as important as the traditional press for two main reasons. Firstly, it has revolutionalized our lifestyle and it will proceed to change the way we access facts and knowledge. Young people increasingly rely on gadgets and the Internet to do anything including learning about the news around the world. Most of them have been used to taking virtual classes, buying goods and services online, and keeping in touch with friends on apps, meaning it is almost impossible for them to develop a habit of reading newspapers. Secondly, newspapers and books are gradually published online as well as in print. We can read them in any language from any country in today's world and more importantly we can access them wherever we are. In conclusion, although I agree that newspapers will remain the main source of news, I believe that the Internet will be equally important.