Honesty is the best policy. To what extent do you agree or disagree with it?

Recently, the debate on whether honesty is the best policy has been heated. While some people claim that numerous crimes can be prevented by honesty, others argue that the policy can be difficult to apply. As far as I am concerned, I agree with this view in a large extent as citizens can obtain well behaviours by honesty. To begin with, honesty can be an efficient way to enhance social cohesion. As polities are imposed to regulate citizens' behaviours, parents and schools may be forced to teach children about honesty and to be responsible for their decisions. For example, young people will not break the laws easily once they acquire good behaviours. Therefore, crime rate can be detered which also creat a friendly society. However, supervision the policy may be challenging. As honesty is invisible, government may have trouble in finding out whether the word from a person is true or not. For instance, no evidence can be provided to prove the preson is lied if there is nobody around. As a result, it will be very difficult for the state to judge whether citizens are breaking the law and take action for this intangible issue In conclusion, although honesty can play an important role in social cohesion as well as personal development, it seem impossible for the state to apply this policy into everyday lives. Since a lot of efforts and resources are required to apply this invisible policy, having other tangible laws may be more beneficial for the community.