The best way to resolve the international environmental problems is to increase the cost of fuel. To what extend, do you agree or disagree?

Currently, with the escalating perils of environmental issues, a lot of experts in this field are joining together to find out more effective solutions to reduce the population. While raising the price of petrol is a common method applied in many countries with the hope to reduce the air emission, I only partially agree with this policy because along with some positive results it could bring to the environment, it may lead to unforeseen adverse effects,especially on the economy. On the one hand, it is undeniable that the higher costs of fuel can help the government reduce the emission of greenhouse gas into the atmosphere, the main contributor to global warming. First, the high price of fuels may limit the demand for buying private vehicles because beyond the amount of money to pay for the car, the buyer must also consider whether they can afford the level of patrol its engine required to operate every day. In terms of residents who already have their own private vehicles, they may decide to use their car less and alternatively communicate by public transport such as buses or trams which give them more financial benefits. In this way, the number of traffic jams will be minimized, thus avoiding the greenhouse gas emissions into the air especially when the drivers turn on the car engine but can not move forward. On the other hand, this solution may lead to some disadvantages. When the government impose higher taxes on petrol, they accidentally limit the development of the transport and tourism industry. The higher price of fossil fuels may cause the soar in travelling fares including the price of flight tickets and rental car services. That is the reason fewer residents decide to travel around. Moreover, shipping companies due to expensive fuels can proactively cut off their supply routes. Consequently, goods may be stagnant and residents may also have to tackle the shortage of necessary products if this issue continually occurs in long term. In conclusion, from my perspective although rising the cost of fuel could be a welcome measure, the authorities should consider all the aspects of this method before putting it into practice to ensure its advantages to the environment as well as narrow negative effects on the economy.