Plastic bags, plastic bottles, and plastic packaging are bad for the environment. - What damage does plastic do to the environment? - What can be done by the government & individuals to solve this problem?

In the last few decades, the use of plastic has increased immensely. This increasing use of plastic is undoubtedly degrading the environment in several ways. This essay will explicate the damage it causes to the surroundings and the possible solutions to deal with the problem. To commence with, plastic pollutes the environment in many different forms, one of which is marine pollution. Experts have anticipated that by 2050 there will be more plastic than fish in the water bodies and a recent survey proves that about 73% of plastic waste eventually finds its way to the oceans. Moreover, it aids in soil pollution by releasing poisonous chemicals into the soil when left in the presence of sunlight. Not just that, it releases several compounds to pollute the air quality as well causing a number of health issues in humans and animals. Clearly, plastic damages multiple environmental factors. People need to stand together with the governing bodies to solve the above problems. One of the immediate steps that we should take is to ban single-use plastics completely and the government should make strict laws about it. For example, in Kenya anyone found with single-use plastic is subjected to imprisonment of up to 4 years along with a heavy fine of $40,000. Additionally, the government and individuals should recycle the existing plastic. Along with the above actions, it is important to spread awareness among the local public about its side effects, so more people can join the cause. Small contributions can make big differences. To summarize, it is quite evident that plastic alone causes more damage to the surroundings than the other polluting factors. In order to protect the environment and maintain a healthy ecosystem, individuals and governments need to take immediate action.