In some countries owning a home rather renting one is very important for people. Why might this be the case? Do you think this is a positive or negative situation?

Some people believe that it is better to own the place they live instead of renting it. In the following essay, I will discuss the reasons for this, which, I believe, is a constructive development because it can help promote sense of stability and enhance competitiveness of the society. There are several reasons why people prefer buying their own home over renting. The primary reason is that residents can gain a greater sense of stability. By owning their home, they can settle down without worrying being escorted away by the landlord for unforeseeable conditions. For instance, people may have to relocate every few years if they rent a place to live, thereby making it difficult for them to settle down in a community. Moreover, purchasing a home can bring a sense of belonging and comfort. Although it is more expensive to buy a home, the place can be renovated according to the owner’s needs and preference. For instance, elderlies can add handrails in toilets and tailor-make large shower areas in self-owned homes, but this would be difficult if they were tenants only. This phenomenon is a high beneficial to individuals and the community. By gaining ownership, people can concentrate on other aspects of life, because their place of residence is secured and stable. For instance, young couples can plan to start families and young entrepreneurs can focus on developing their own business. This can bring stability to the society as well as sharpen its competitiveness. In conclusion, people prefer having ownership to their home because it can make them feel more secure and comfortable, together with a greater sense of belonging. This is a progressive situation, because it can bring about social stability and economic development.