Some people think that music plays an inportant role in seciety. Others think it is simply a form of entertainment. Discuss both views and gives your opinion

People hold heterogenious heterogenous opinions towards the role of music in the society. Some opine that it plays a crucial role in our daily life wheras others merely consider it as one form of replaceable entertainment. In this essay I will elaborate the ideas of both sides. To die-hard music lovers, not only is music an imperative cultural activity but it is also ubiquitous in our daily life. Musical performances have long been used in religious ceremonies since ancient times. For example, songs are still sung in a church nowadays, no matter it is a weekly worship or when a king is crowned. Plenty of adolescents are very fond of pop singers and spend plenty of time listening to their latest performances. In addition to religious avenues, we can simply find music everywhere. Not to mention all kinds of concerts, whether they are performed by an orchestra or is a rock-and-roll one, we can also find background music in films, advertisements, and even in all kinds of retail shops. To a lot of ordinary people, however, music is not that important to them. Notwithstanding the fact that music is useful in some ways, they are in the opinion that there are more than one form of entertainment available to them and hence it is not crucial. The importance of music is best reflected by a hypothetical world without it. People would still be able to turn to multifarious sports events, museums, art galleries and so on. Had background music been banned, films would have irrefutably been more monotonous, but movie makers would find a way to impress audiences. In the case of the absence of truck drivers, for example, our life would have been in a bigger mess. Thus, a lot of people consider that having musicians is not something more important than other aspects in our life, at least not more crucial than having truck drivers. In conclusion, music do play a role in our daily life but people will be okay without them. To me, I am in the camp that music is not that important to most people.