In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

Investing in massive transportation infrastructure has all been a controversial issue. In some nations, while some people emphasize the necessity of investment in fast train railway lines that connect different urban areas, others believe we should improve current public transportation within cities. Besides exploring both sides of the argument, in this essay, I will explain why I do agree with the latter group. on the one hand, the advocates of interurban railways development highlight the less environmental damages that this mode of transportation might cause compared to other existing fast modes of transport such as airplanes. To justify their claim, this group refer to some research that says airplanes are the most polluting mode of transportation and should be replaced by fast trains. Furthermore, those who support fast railways infrastructure remind the possibility of the deficiency of current intercity transportation considering a large number of passengers and workers who would commute between different urban areas on daily basis. In some countries like Japan, for instance, a large amount of money is dedicated to constructing a high fast railway line that connects 6 big cities and is estimated to carry a huge number of passengers in near future. On the other hand, taking a utilitarian approach, the supporters of improving the current inner-city public transportation system point to the much larger number of city dwellers that can be benefited from such improvement compared to the number of intercity passengers who might get an advantage of fast railway construction. Thus, it seems logical to allocate the public budget to a more publicly beneficial area. Moreover, another possible merit of improvement in the existing public transport system is the reduction in the use of personal vehicles which are said to be responsible for more than 30% of urban pollution. Better accessibility to public transportation would convince individuals to commute with the less time-wasting mode of transportation instead of getting stuck in heavy traffic with their personal vehicles. If governments do not invest enough money in intercity public transport, people would prefer to use their personal vehicles, resulting in more air pollution within cities that impact negatively a large number of citizens. In conclusion, developing new fast railway lines might reduce air pollution and compensate for the inadequacy of the current intercity mode of transportation in the future, I believe government should allocate public money to developing intercity public transport because not only it would serve a much larger of citizens, but also it can mitigate the air problem solution in populous urban areas.