“Prevention is better than cure.” Out of country’s health budget, a large proportion should be diverted from treatment to spending on health education and prevention measures. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Recently, more and more people are having health issues. As a result, some people argue that governments should spend more budget on prevention measures rather than treatment. As far as I am concerned, I agree with this viewpoint to a large extent as there will be more long-term effects from prevention. To begin with, promoting prevention measures is more beneficial to the public in long term. As citizens can be exposed to numerous healthcare knowledge, healthier livings style can be built up at a very young age. For example, if teachers and parents know the importance of doing sport, children can be encouraged to do more exercise in their daily lives. Therefore, people can learn to do more exercise as well as maintain their body strength. In this way, the public can prevent certain illnesses and keep fit because of their high body qualities. On the other hand, treatment can be necessary when it comes to serious cases. As an unhealthy lifestyle may not be the only reason for certain illnesses, it seems impossible to avoid all health problems if people only have knowledge about how to keep fit. As a result, improving treatment systems can prevent citizens from unexpected illnesses. For example, only advanced technology can reduce the flu rate. Therefore, it is crucial for governments to enhance the quality of cures as it can protect people from emergency situations. In conclusion, although improving healthcare technology is important as it saves people's lives in unexpected conditions, a more significant impact can be shown in the long run if the government offers correct health information to the public.