Some people believe that engaging in an active pastime does more to develop children's life skills than time spent reading. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Reading and practical knowledge have always been the foundation of a child’s development. However, some people believe that participating in practical activities contributes more to building life skills than reading. In my opinion, reading and practical experience are equally important to develop a child’s skillset. This essay will talk about how reading and practical experience go hand-in-hand in training children for their lives. To commence with, reading provides knowledge about various tasks that cannot be performed without a prior understanding. For instance, building an automated toy. One might cause more damage than good if they don’t have prior knowledge of it. In addition to that, reading helps develop one’s mind and opens the gate to the world which benefits the whole society. Let’s take an example of plastic, if children are not aware of the harm it brings to the environment, they would never stop using it practically in their lives. So clearly, reading brings awareness to children’s lives and helps them act in a better manner. Along with the reading, getting engaged in active pastimes is equally important to develop children’s skills. There are several skills that need hands-on experience along with reading to understand better. For example, music that needs practice regularly to improve and reading can help but not replace hands-on processes. Another case could be painting which requires practice and patience to get better with time. In order to develop painting expertise, one needs to paint again and again to learn and improve. Another example could be music, which needs practice regularly to improve. Clearly, there are many jobs that need practical exposure. To summarize, it is quite clear from the above arguments that reading and practical understanding go together and both are equally important in the development of children’s life skills. Children should be encouraged to read and participate in active pastimes, neglecting any one of them will hamper the growth of a child.