‘Healthcare should always be funded by governments, and it should always be free for people to use.’ To what extent do you agree or disagree with this idea?

As the price of healthcare treatment has increased rapidly, some people argue that governments should always be the major funders of the healthcare system and people should be provided with free treatment. As far as I am concerned, I highly agree with this viewpoint as human basic needs can be satisfied. To begin with, it is government's duty to provide citizens with healthcare treatment. As the health conditions of workers hold the key to productivity, labour supply may be impeded if society does’t have enough treatment. For example, employees may not be concentrated on their work if they are facing an expansive medicine fee from private hospitals. Therefore, prices can be reduced once governments support healthcare, which can also enhance productivity as well as social development. On the other hand, only basic healthcare treatment should be free to the public. As lots of resources are being used to sustain healthcare services, governments may run out of budgets if they can not make any profit from it. For example, the government needs to employ high-skills doctors and purshases modern technologies to ensure a high-quality treatment. Therefore, charging the public from high-standard cures can encourage governments to support the system in an more efficient way. In conclusion, it is undeniable that governments should fund healthcare as it satisfies human basic needs. Besides, although governments have duty to prevent citizen's from high medicen medical fees, it is no doubt that the public should also take responsibility for social development. Therefore, only fundamental treatments should be free for people to use.