Do the advantages of this situation outweigh the disadvantages?

In old times, locally-grown groceries were the only choice of humans, whereas people can purchase any food they desire from all over the planet these days. I believe the positive sides of this trend surpass the negative ones and I will analyze both views and conclude my opinion in the following paragraphs. To begin with, one of the major drawbacks of importing food globally is that it would create a significant burden on local farmers and producers. This is to say because these people would dramatically lose their profits if the population is enticed by foreign products. For example, if the popularity of the natively grown fruits decreases, subsequently, many local stores would close down and citizens who work in the harvesting sector would quit, and this would eventually be detrimental to the national growth. On the other hand, the benefits of this phenomenon can not be disregarded. First of all, this trend provides a range of food options for the people who want to purchase a good. For example, in the past, there was only one kind of orange, which was locally produced, but now we have plenty of other options due to improvements in importing. As a result of that, an individual can buy the best item among others. Moreover, this tendency introduced us to an opportunity to eat any fruit or vegetable any time we desire, regardless of the seasonal conditions of the native land. In conclusion, although there seem to be some disadvantages of the globally imported foods such as possible bankruptcy of local farmers and workers, I believe, the pros of this tendency surely outweigh the cons as it serves us with a more convenient shopping opportunity.