Towns and cities should be divided into zones so that all the schools are in one area, all the shopping malls are located together and all the industrial sites are situated close to each other. To what extent do you agree that urban areas should be split into distinct zones?

Some people believe that towns and cities should be organized and split into zones, such as educational, shopping, and industrial zones. Personally, I agree to a certain extent with the idea that industrial sites should be located in particular zones far from residential areas. One clear benefit of splitting cities into distinct areas is that it will help protect people from pollution from factories in industrial districts. It is undeniable that living near the industrial zone can cause many serious health problems due to air, water, and soil pollution produced by factories. Hence, locating these factories together far away from residential and educational zones can make it easier for the governor to restrict these harms to the environment and people. This way, it can help to keep fresh air and green space in the city. On the other hand, separating too many zones could lead to traffic congestion problems if there are not enough options for transportation. People have to spend more time commuting across the areas. For instance, people have to travel from residential parts of the city to the school area to put their children, then travel to the shopping malls zone for grocery shopping before commuting back to their home. However, This problem can be solved by providing sufficient public transport and locating some essential zones together. In conclusion, the benefits of dividing towns into distinct zones seem to outweigh its drawbacks. However, some zones could be located near each other in order to make people's lives more convenient.