Some people think that the best way to reduce the time spent in travelling to work is to replace parks and gardens close to the city center with apartment buildings for commuters, but others disagree. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.(

It is not uncommon to see the busy traffic everyday morning when people rush to work. This is especially true in city centres where most office buildings, shops and restaurants are located. Therefore, there is a heated argument between the two parties concerning whether the optimal way to reduce travel time is to substitute the leisure area with housing for commuters. Although both sides have reasonable arguments, the replacement of parks and gardens are not deemed the best solution in long term. On the one hand, building up high-rise apartments mean more people can go back to the office on foot. For instance, people who use to live outside the city could spare the waiting time travelling on the road and wake up later. This is seemingly true, however, the apartment in city centres are probably expensive due to the central location. This is not to mention that workers will be further deprived of spending time with their loved ones or families after a day of busy work. It is therefore not an optimal method. On the other hand, the issue can be better alleviated by simply arranging flexible working hours or even remote working from home. For example, when less crowd is packed into buses or trains in peak hours, travel time will be less for everybody. During pandemics, the working from home culture is getting popular and has been proven feasible. As a result, utilizing the latest technology could help lessen the burden on travelling infrastructure and resolve the pain point. In conclusion, it is not the best solution to substitute all parks and gardens with apartment buildings to solve the traffic issue. Instead, companies could make use of internet technology to arrange for more staff to work from home. It is foreseeable that home working culture will become a trend in the future.