In some countries, young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. what are the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this?

Nowadays, encouraging the young generation to choose a gap year has become a new trend. Most people suggest the young generation work or travel after graduating from high school. This essay will explain the advantages and disadvantages. To begin with, the trend to choose a gap year among young people has increased dramatically. Many young people tend to delay their education after graduating from high school. Most of them choose to explore new places. Travelling is one option for them to explore something new. Furthermore, they can learn many things from travelling. For instance, they can gain new knowledge, learn new cultures, meet new people, and make connections with people around the world. In addition, some young generations also choose to work before they decide to continue studying at university. Moreover, they can consider what major is suitable for them if they choose to study at university. In contrast, when young people tend to choose to delay education, they are probably going to enjoy that decision, and they are not interested in continuing their studies. For instance, young people apply for a job after graduating from high school, and they are busy working; they might consider education is not a priority anymore. In conclusion, a gap year for young people has advantages and disadvantages. One side will give them the opportunity to explore life and find something that interests them the most. On the other side, if they find something that attracts them, perhaps they will forget to continue studying in higher-level education.