In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centers or malls to do their shopping. Is this a positive or negative development?

It is now a trend to see people go shopping in either malls or shopping centres and this has led to the closing down of small business enterprises. This is a negative development and its adverse effects will be discussed in this essay. On the one hand, buyers have an assurance that whatever they need is readily available in bigger business enterprises therefore they prefer to visit such places regardless of the distance. For example, in Lagos State Nigeria, most people choose to patronize ShopRite whenever they want to get something because it's a big entrepreneurial centre with a lot of segments and each segment sells specific products hence virtually all human needs are available. As a result of this majority of the citizens in the state, would rather go there and purchase all their needs at once instead of visiting different shops and searching through the market for their needs. On the other hand, this trend has more disadvantages because only the rich and well-to-do people in the society will be able to become successful entrepreneurs while others who are recognized locally and cannot afford to establish a bigger shopping centre are forced to close down their business due to low or no sales. small scale business owners will become unemployed and can go into crime while those who rely on their business to meet their daily needs and care for their families will be unable to do so. A survey carried out in Nigeria two years ago showed that 60% of students are children of small-scale business owners, this implies that if the trend is allowed to continue there will be an increase in the number of school dropouts, who can become a nuisance in the community. In conclusion, the negative effect of this trend such as rise in unemployment, reduced quality of life for upcoming entrepreneurs as well as an increase in the number of students who cannot complete their education although its advantages lie in meeting the needs of people at once. Because the disadvantages of the development outweigh its advantages, it is a negative development.