“Prevention is better than cure”. Researching and treating diseases is too costly so it would be better to invest in preventative measures. To what extent do you agree?

For any disease, it demands a considerable effort to analyze and cure. Considering the energy and resource that is spent on curing an ailment, it is always argued that it would be better to take steps to prevent it. This essay agrees fully with this argument considering the amount of money and time one spends on the ailment. Since, in recent years, through several research publications, it is evident that the time and money requires preventing disease is negligible when compared to the spending that illness requires for curing. Primarily, treating the diseases requires a humungous chunk of wealth without a guarantee of the result. This hits hardly not only for the poor people to lose their life-long savings on medicines and procedures but also it has significantly affected more affluent families. For instance, one of my relatives was diagnosed with terminal cancer and the family had to spend all their funds in hope of saving him but in vain, this has affected the educational support that they could currently provide to his children. The second main reason would be the amount of time that is spent on travel and for medical procedures. Though the patients are forced to occupy their time with treatments, most of the time it will be also a time -consuming activity for persons accompanying the affected ones even if they are doing it out of their love towards them. For my relative, it was his daughter who spent her days with him for his diagnosis and treatment without being able to be on her job for almost a year. To conclude, it looks to be an ideal decision to spend our money and time on activities and practises that will prevent the disease from occurring instead of being ignorant and spending more amount of money and time after one gets ill.