Some people believe that nowadays we have too many choices. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In medieval times, people had restricted in making decisions due to their parents or religions. Nowadays, the world has developed which means we have plenty of opportunities to pursue what we want to do to adapt and enjoy our lives. From my perspective, I totally agree with the latter for the following reasons. In the past, when religion took the lead in citizens’ cultures, pupils especially children had to follow its limited traditions as well as customs. Obeying parents’ demands would make their moms and dads pleased but in contrast, it would create a rebellion inside each of them. One of the best examples of this would be Catherine who was King Henry VIII’s wife did not have many choices and had to betray her love. Eventually, she could not put up with him and decided to have an incest relationship with her brother as a way to resist the traditions, hence she ended up receiving a capital sentence which created one of the most dramatic stories in England’s history. Besides, another demerit of having limited choices is individuals have to be submissive and can not enjoy their happiness or freedom. Therefore, I strongly think that it is crucial to do whatever people want to do in their lives. On the other hand, I align with the statement that it can not be denied that in modern days, having numerous options can be beneficial in society. To make this clear, a child who comes up with their own decisions can be self-reliant as well as financially independent. According to recent research in Finland, 45% of kids at age 4 can solely do all the household chores along with knowing how to save money for further purposes. Afterwards, it can gradually form into good habits among them to become breadwinners. Another merit of this phenomenon is that being released in making choices can help people chase after their dreams or maybe motivate them to accomplish their tasks. Moreover, it is also a chance to anticipate the upcoming situations, thus can help us avoid making poor mistakes. Henceforth, I believe that overwhelming decisions can be helpful to us, especially the young generation. In conclusion, after all the aforementioned reasons, it is no doubt that having a variety of choices can be advantageous and plays an important role to help in the development of children in the future.