Many doctors recommend that older people exercise regularly, but most patients do not follow an exercise routine. Why do you think this happens? How can people be encouraged to exercise regularly?

A vast majority of doctors suggest that elder individuals to exercise frequently, but many of them do not follow an exercise routine. This essay believes that this is because of the lifestyle they grew up with and this can be changed by educating them the impact exercise will have on their life. The main reason why many old people do not exercise often is because of their lifestyle that is to say they are not used to exercising since they were children which makes hard for them to exercise regularly whereas someone who is used to exercise three to four times their whole life would not have a problem to exercise when they get older. For instance, in Somalia, many people who joined gym in their later life are found that they do not go regularly. However, people could change by teaching them the importance of exercise. This is to say, if people know how exercise increases the chances of longer span life, and how it prevents many diseases that old people are risk to have, their mindset towards exercise will change and as a result more people would exercise regularly. For instance, in Ethiopia, many obese people started exercising after they were told they are at risk of diabetes and heart disease. In conclusion, although many doctors advise their old patients to exercise they do not because of their lifestyle and this could change if they are educated on the effect of practising exercise will have on their lives.