Fewer schools require school children to learn and improve their handwriting skills. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages of this trend?

Only a small percentage of schools train pupils to learn and excel in their handwriting skills. However, in my opinion, there are more advantages, such as improved exam scores and a greater chance of future employment, as compared to drawbacks. To commence with, while there are several benefits of good handwriting, the most prominent is a desirable score in the examination because well-written but accurate answers are easy to read for the examiners; consequently, the students secure a higher percentage. For instance, it has commonly been reported that the majority of students with poor handwritten skills are less likely to achieve a desirable result in the exams, despite writing correct answers. Therefore, excellent handwriting ultimately becomes a prerequisite to higher marks on the paper. Another evident merit is a high prospect of future employment. There are many companies that still hire employees for jobs that require writing documents, such as confidential application letters and reports. To elucidate, not every letter or report requires typing on the computer. For instance, candidates with excellent writing skills are required predominantly by the government sector as it serves the general public as a whole. Therefore, non-typed paperwork is circulated especially to those people that do not possess laptops or desktop computers. In conclusion, however, there are a few demerits of decent handwriting, such as fraudulent signatures and replicating original documents, but nowadays, this theft cannot be hidden from today’s advanced technology. Therefore, in my overall opinion, the positives outweigh the negatives. Hence, it is recommended that more schools should train minors to excel in this skill for a greater cause.