Some people believe that there should be fixed punishment for each type of crime. Others however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivation for committing it, should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Individuals have mixed views on whether fixed punishment should be imposed on convicts. This essay will examine both sides of the argument, but I believe that criminals should be treated cautiously and punishments should be more flexible. Some people strongly advocate that a fixed sentence should be applied in each realm of the judicial system. This will streamline legal proceedings and improve judges’ productivity. For example, those offenders who commit minor crimes, such as speeding and littering, can be dealt with straight away. Eventually, legal officials will have more time to solve other serious offences. On top of that, this approach will deter people from involving in criminal activities. This is because they understand it will be impossible for them to escape punishment if they are apprehended. Therefore, few individuals will dare to violate the law. However, legal proceedings should consider perpetrators' motivations in order to avoid unfair sentences. Crime is a complex subject and giving fixed punishment is a simplistic approach. For instance, a female criminal killed a man because she had been sexually harassed. In other words, she is also a victim. If the court can spend time listening to the whole story patiently, the woman may receive just a few years of imprisonment instead of the death sentence. Similarly, many violators are more likely to avert unfair treatment. In the long run, the legal proceedings will be transparent, humane and fair. Overall, the main function of the law is to protect law-abiding citizens and deter perpetrators. The pivotal part for judges is to determine the right sentence for lawbreakers. From my perspective, it is necessary to treat convicts on a case-by-case basis.