Some sports are extremely dangerous but many people still like them very much. Why do people take part in dangerous sports? What are the effect ?

Over the last few years, a large number of individuals have indulged in high-risk sporting activities such as hang-gliding and mountain climbing because it is recreational and serves the purpose of helping them overcome their fears. However, I believe that this is a negative trend that may result in grievous consequences. There are several reasons why people engage in these outdoor activities. Firstly, it is enjoyable as they are able to unwind and experience fun while at it. Besides, being at such altitudes can be very refreshing to the body and mind. To illustrate, Tom Campbell, an Australian extreme sports athlete, in a recent interview with SuperSports revealed that Bungee Jumping is a major breakthrough for him whenever he feels overwhelmed by the events surrounding him. In addition, these activities could help to starve their fears. Most people believe that one of the best ways to conquer their fears is to face them squarely hence; they take the bull by the horn and decide to go on such dreadful activities. Thus, this approach could make individuals dauntless and more confident about themselves. However, adventurous sports may lead to tragic incidents. Participants tend to put themselves in harm’s way under the guise of recreation which may result in severe wounds and ultimately, death. Moreover, such activities require a great level of meticulousness and alertness because any miscalculation could be catastrophic. A neighbour of mine, for instance, suffered a traumatic brain injury which developed into a seizure disorder after he fell off a cliff while attempting to take pictures to celebrate his brave feat. Therefore, the risk of losing one’s life or sustaining serious injuries reflects some of the dangers associated with this trend. In conclusion, although most people participate in insane sports because it serves as a diversional activity and helps them get around their fears, nevertheless; it is an unwelcomed development owing to the fact that extensive injuries may be sustained and sometimes, lives lost.