The cheaper availability of international transport means that more people are able to travel abroad these days. It is claimed that this is improving understanding among the world’s population. However, others believe it is better to use mass media to find out about more about the world. Discuss both views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

International travel has become more affordable in recent times, enabling more people to explore a variety of foreign countries. While some believe that this trend brings everyone closer together, others claim that mass media is a far more effective way to understand the world. This essay explores both perspectives and outlines my view. To begin with, most individuals prefer famous news outlets as their primary source of information because of the reputation and popularity of these mediums. Moreover, these platforms cover all major events around the globe. Although they are the most effective methods of reaching a wider audience simultaneously, there is a possibility of them being influenced by political leaders to advance their agenda. For example, in America, many well-established news networks, such as CNN and NBC, are believed to be under the influence of either the Democratic or the Republican Party. Consequently, they may fail to present accurate data and may highlight negative aspects of the citizens of countries like India, China, or Russia. Conversely, knowing other people in person has numerous benefits. Firstly, individuals who travel to foreign countries get to physically meet local residents, and they can understand foreign cultures and traditions through their direct experience rather than relying on potentially biased opinions from news outlets. To give an example, tourists visiting nations like China, are mostly amazed by the technological advancements, urbanization, and humble nature of Asian communities, but that is rarely shown by Western television channels. Therefore, in my view, experiencing the world while travelling is the most efficient approach to learning about various localities around the globe. In conclusion, although media channels have a widespread reach, they may not always provide unbiased coverage. Thus, travelling abroad is the most reliable means of gaining an in-depth understanding of the global population.