Advances in communication technology have enabled us to work outside the office, whether at home or while traveling. Do the advantages of this trend outweigh its advantages?

We have been fortunate enough to live in an age which has freed us from offices, when necessary at least. This appears to me as a great opportunity, with potential drawbacks getting eliminated with ease. Not having to travel back and forth every work day is alone worth a lot. It is not uncommon for urban dwellers to waste several hours a day just to get to work and back home, which is no longer the case for those allowed to work online. It must feel like a miracle for many to be ready for work in a minute, without the hassle of clothing or traffic. The comfort and beauty of the workplace is another factor that should not go unnoticed. In an office, in most cases, one is stuck to a semi-comfortable chair with little space to move around, often resulting in backpain, crooked posture or similar health problems. At home, on the other hand, you are free to determine the way you work, making it as comfortable as you wish. Or you would simply take your workplace, that is your computer, to a place of natural beauty like a lake or river. Both ensure much greater levels of life satisfaction, contributing to your physical and mental well-being. Yet, not all about out-of-office work is bright. Most significantly, the chance to socialize with others on a regular basis decreases greatly when working from home, something against our own nature. Even if they might be annoying from time to time, interaction with colleagues is a chance to keep our socialization skills sharp enough. We, human beings, are not meant to spend most of our time in isolation looking at a screen. Also, getting distracted is far more likely when out of the office, potentially reducing productivity. Having the freedom to take breaks as often as possible, away from prying eyes, might not be ideal for those who need some watchful eyes to keep focused. Yet both these can be tackled with straightforward measures, such as bi-hourly online meetings to check progress and working in crowded places like cafes from time to time. Interaction with different people each time we are out will even contribute more to our social well-being, while regular virtual meetings will help maintain our focus. In conclusion, it does not take much effort and creativity to get rid of potentially disturbing effects of working from home, which is why I believe that there is much to enjoy in doing so.