Some companies sponsor sports and sport stars as a way to advertise themselves. Some people think it is good, while others think there are disadvantages. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In today’s materialistic world, people are becoming more interested in clothing brands, exotic foods and other commodities unlike they were in the past. Therefore, in order to attract people’s attention to their products, companies are competitively providing sponsorship to famous athletes and sport teams. Some people argue that it is a good trend for both businesses and sportsperson while others are still skeptical with this notion. Personally, I believe that the advantages of sponsorship for sport event outweigh its disadvantages. It is undoubtedly true that sport events such as Olympics and FIFA World Cup are widely watched around the world. Thus, companies start providing a large amount of fund to such events as well as athletes involved in order to get a vast publicity. For example, if a renowned sport star endorses a certain type of brand, that product will instantly be noticed among worldwide fans. In fact, this practice will obviously bring benefits its company and its sale rate will also rise. Moreover, it can bring a great deal of benefits to the athletes as well. If a player from poor background with uncovered sport skills is sponsored by a prestigious company, he will be successful, having a chance to show his athletic abilities to the world. For these reasons, such purpose is advantageous for both domains, companies and sportspersons. However, the drawbacks related to this practice are also important to take into account. Firstly, some products are harmful to health. Take ‘Pepsi’ as an example, this company widely sponsors different types of sport competitions and players. As a result, this can lead to massive consumerism among sport lovers which can damage their health. Secondly, the reputation of a brand highly depends on who promotes it, which mean if the sport star does drugs or misbehave, the fans will be upset and stop using what he or she advertises. It can, therefore, result in the downturn of the brand. In conclusion, despite of having detrimental effects on sportsperson and the audiences, I do believe that sponsorship always a crucial role in helping sport events and sport stars survive in the industry.