Small businesses are disappearing and being replaced by large multinational companies. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, there are more and more global co-operates establishing their branches in every country and replacing the local businesses. Although this can cause some negative impacts, I strongly believe that this trend has more benefits and will continue in the future. First of all, the replacement of domestic stores by multinational businesses offers a lot of various choices and also, some inconvenience for the citizens. The well-established companies could provide many high-quality products with lower prices for the people thank to their experience in other markets. For example, people living in Ho Chi Minh city can come to Emart, a megamarket having thousands of goods and buy anything with various daily promotions. On the other hand, because of their huge size, the multinational stores can be less flexible and take a lot of time and money. It will save some time for workers to buy their breakfast in a small food vendor than in a supermarket. Second, the presence of foreign co-operates is beneficial for the country. While paying a great deal of taxes, the big companies could, also, create a competitive environment for the economy and increase the competence of the local ones. For instance, when Unilever came to Vietnam, many local businesses in the FMCG industry collapsed, but some of them restructured, survived and became the key players. However, the dependence on foreign businesses, who might favour their global products, can cause some challenges for the local ones to be sold and, then be disappeared. To sum up, it is easy to see that many global companies are replacing the local ones. Though there could be some negative impacts like wasting time and money, or damaging the local products, I think it brings more benefits for both citizens and the economy.