In the future, nobody will buy printed newspapers or books because they will be able to read everything they want online without paying. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Some claim that over time printed newspapers will fall out of favour since reading materials will be accessible with a click on the phone without paying any charge. I disagree with this statement because many readers still prefer to connect physically with the books and not all materials can be uploaded as a result of copyright piracy. Firstly, those who advocate for the disappearance of conventional publications argue that now that the internet provides users with unlimited access to all sources of information, there is no need to travel long distances to buy a piece of work. However, this reasoning is not sound, as there are volumes that could be either copyrighted or restricted to certain countries, so readers are left with two options: either buy them in person or accept missing out on them. For instance, Chinese media users are not empowered to download foreign applications due to political pressure, thus having to visit nearby libraries to look for their wanted novels. Consequently, I believe that the deterioration of paper-based print will not happen for the aforementioned reason. Secondly, there are individuals who enjoy physical interactions with tangible materials for two reasons. One possible argument is that while an online reader often encounters physical disturbances such as eyestrain and headaches, buyers can directly touch every page and inhale the fresh smell of papers, which boosts attention span and accelerates the acquisition of knowledge. Furthermore, several enthusiasts express gratitude for old print that is associated with historical mementoes and possessing them instils a sense of belonging and nostalgia that are often overlooked with the ease of a wide network. A clear example can be seen in the trend of collecting old magazines among Vietnamese teenagers who appreciate the condition and the rarity of those articles. In conclusion, I strongly disagree with the statement that people will no longer pay for printed media and books. Besides, it is flawed to claim that the public can read everything on the internet for free.