Some people think that the best way to increase road safety is to increase the minimum legal age for driving cars and riding motorbikes. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Road safety is very important in this fast-paced world. While many people believe that an increase in the minimum legal age is not the best way to increase safety on roads, I personally believe that it is for two main reasons. Firstly, I think that an increase in the minimum legal age for driving is the best way in improving road safety. Although there are people who say that increasing safety signs on roads is the better way to increase road safety, I feel that if children below the age of 21 years are allowed to drive cars on roads it will surely increase the risk of accidents as they might not be able to identify the signs on roads if they are not aware of what they depict. However, if the legal age is increased then adults and children will have a better sense of driving as compared to the younger generation. For instance, due to an increase in the legal driving age, children will be able to drive only after improving their cognitive abilities and once they become smarter. Only when this happens will they be able to drive smartly using their cognitive skills. The other reason to improve road safety is the increase in penalties for speedy driving. Not only will an increase in the fine for speedy driving reduce the speed of cars but also reduce the number of accidents on roads. In addition, people will take care to observe the speed limit while driving so that they do not cross the limit. Consequently, this will surely reduce the number of casualties due to speeding above the speed limit. Take the national highways, for example, which usually have speed limits of more than 100 mph, and should always impose fines for breaking rules such as speeding and avoiding stop signs, which will make people aware of the surroundings and focus on safety rules. In conclusion, not only is the increase in minimum legal age the best way to increase road safety but also an increase in penalties will improve the safety of people. I, therefore, believe that the increase in the minimum legal age is the best way to increase safety on roads.