The iternet is a great source of information and has opened up opportunities for people to learn all around th world. Is all information reliable on the internet? What could be done to control information online?

An increasing concern for many governments around the world is the reliability of the Internet. It serves as a vast repository of knowledge about how and when things come to be, but there are many threats hidden behind it. Nonetheless, the unreliability of the news can be stopped with the proper measures. To begin with, the majority of the news coming from the Internet is written by non-professional authors. In particular, their aim is to scare the audience with fake news of dubious origin. Emblematic is the example of the pandemic, where authors wanted mass panic due to the paucity of reliable resources. If people had not had access to that news, they would not have run to supermarkets to finish stocks. Therefore, the more fake news people have to share, the more fear can spread. I nonetheless believe that there are several solutions that can be adopted to tackle this eerie phenomenon. First of all, authorities should introduce a journalist register where just who is graduated in journalism can be enrolled. This idea could reduce the amount of trash and fake news in online magazines and restore the credibility of the authors. Secondly, governments have many tools that can be used, for example, they can identify the IP of those who have committed these crimes, they can ban them but mainly they should stiffer penalties. The latter could act as a deterrent to prevent cybercrimes. If the risks are astronomically high, criminals not only do they stop to behave in this way, but do also be careful about what they will post. To conclude, information online, unfortunately, has several drawbacks owing to the unreliability of resources. However, governments could introduce a register for journalists, the use of technological tools, and fines to prevent cybercrimes. Hence, the rampant growth of the use of the Internet imposes to act soon, because the worst has to come yet.