People these days watch TV, films and other programmes alone rather than with other people. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Visual media plays a pivotal role in bringing a sense of leisure into everyone's life. There are many people who prefer to watch movies and programmes alone. It has been argued whether this has a positive impact or not. I, personally think it has more demerits in comparison to merits and this essay will show some relevant issues related to the topic. On one hand, it is inevitable to say that watching films alone brings satisfaction for a person to a great extent. In other words, there are certain TV series that people do not feel comfortable seeing with their family and friends. so, they prefer to watch them in person. For example, a report in the London Times has stated that 80% of adolescents watch movies alone instead of in a group because they have been rated 'A'. In addition, people also find solace when watching alone as they do not have to think about others' interests. On the other hand, we cannot neglect the negatives it offers. The first and foremost is the availability of less quality time for family members. Nowadays, with fast-moving life, individuals tend to have limited time to spend with their loved ones, therefore watching programmes alone usually hampers personal relationships among family. For instance, a survey shows that online watching has affected relationships between parents and their offspring as they are spending less time with them due to their online addiction. This, further stop them from socialising with their friends as they find it more comfortable to live alone on their own terms. Another demerit is that it leads to many health problems such as stress, anxiety and many more. In conclusion, it is undeniable to say that watching alone has its own benefits but we cannot neglect the fact that it usually makes a person isolated and at last they have to suffer from some illness. Therefore, in my opinion, I strongly recommend that the disadvantages overweigh the advantages.