Some people claim that immigrants should adopt the local culture when immigrating to a new country. While others think that they can establish a minority community instead.

It is indubitable that immigration has existed in the history of human beings. Some individuals firmly believe that people relocating to other countries are supposed to adapt to the local cultures, whereas others assert that immigrants are likely to form a minority community. I think both attitudes are understandable, in the following paragraphs, I am going to discuss these two views and provide my own opinions. Humankind emigrates to a foreign land for several reasons; undeniably, they are bound to face challenges. Hence, it is better to be acclimated to the local surroundings for relieving their cultural shock and anxiety. For example, if people would rather move to the Muslim countries in Southeast Asia, the Arabian Peninsula, the Middle East, or Africa, they ought not to have pork and drink alcohol that is declared haram by God. On the other hand, if individuals head over to Hindu nations, such as India, Nepal, and Bengal, they should be aware of the prohibition on the consumption of beef. In my opinion, I agree that fitting into the local cultures enables them to reduce cultural conflicts and further know how to be in harmony with natives. Conversely, some immigrants probably set up a minority community when settling down in a strange land. For instance, the development of Chinatowns typically resulted from mass migration to an area with few Chinese residents. Chinatowns exist throughout the world, including North America, Australasia, and so on. Although Chinese immigrants were discriminated against by the locals, they, nowadays, have a political and economic impact on society. Another example is Quebec. The majority of Quebec are French-Canadians, which enriches the cultural diversity of Canada. For me, I also support that the minor immigrants congregating in foreign lands lead to cultural diversity. To sum up, it is clear that I am of the opinion that both sides are comprehensible. Immigrants relocating to strange lands can either learn how to integrate themselves into a society whose culture is different from their own to prevent cultural shock with locals or choose to make a minor community, varying throughout the world. Most importantly, we must respect any immigrants from any country.